Two skilled working visa subclasses provide instant Australian PR, namely:

1. Skilled Independent (subclass 189) visa
2. Skilled Nominated (subclass 190) visa

Visa 189 and Visa 190: Instant Australian Permanent Resident 2022

Unlike other types of working visas, visa 189 and visa 190 do not have a “temporary visa application” stage. And unlike different kinds of working visas, before applying for a visa 189 or visa 190, you must pass a certain point first.

Are you interested in getting this instant PR visa?

Before Applying for Visa 189 and Visa 190, Get a 65 Points First

Before applying for a skilled working visa in Australia, you must lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI). An Expression of Interest (EOI) application is different from a visa application. Through the Expression of Interest (EOI) application, the Department will assess your background, including your age, work experience, educational background, English competency, marital status, etc., and the minimum 65 points will be counted from these aspects. Before you can lodge an EOI, you must complete a skill assessment from the relevant skill-assessing authority of your nominated occupation.

You must lodge an EOI application through SkillSelect.

You can use our online skilled visa calculator here to check how many points you have now.

Read more: Permanent Residency Requirements for Short-Term Stream Visa 482 Holders

skilled working visa Australia

Slight but Important Difference between Visa 189 and Visa 190 You Must Understand

Visa 189 and visa 190 have a slight difference that you must acknowledge. Visa 189 is an independent point-tested skilled working visa. Meanwhile, Visa 190 is a point-tested skilled working visa with a nomination from the Australian state/territory government. It means that if you want to apply for visa 190, you must get an invitation and nomination from the Australian state/territory government (for example from VIC, NSW, WA, etc) instead of from the Federal Government which is for subclass 189.   

Some state governments require you to do an additional step to be considered for the state nomination for subclass 190. This additional step is to submit a Registration of Interest (ROI). The states that are currently implementing this step for the 2022-2023 financial year so far are Victoria, Queensland, and ACT.

So, if you are applying for visa 190 specifically to get an invitation from the Victoria government, you must lodge an Expression of Interest first. Then, if you have met the 65 points, you can then lodge a Registration of Interest with the Victoria government.

Read more: Update for Working Visa Australia: Age Concession for Visa 457 and Visa Extension for Visa 482

What Happens After Meeting the Points Minimum?

If you have passed the 65 points, this is only the pass mark and you will not get an invitation from the Australian Federal Government or Australian State/Territory Government to apply, either for visa 189 or visa 190. Instead, you must gain as many points as possible since you will be competing with other potential migrants. Each state has different priorities and the more applicants are looking for the nomination the more fierce the “competition” is. Hence, the bigger your points total the better your chance to be invited.

If you are invited to apply for the state nomination, you will be given about 28 days to lodge your application. After that, if your application is successful, generally you will have around 6 months from receiving the invitation to lodge the visa 190 or visa 189 application.

If you wish to check your eligibility, please get in touch with us via email at or phone at 1300 827 159.

Things to Do While Waiting for Invitation to Lodge Skilled Working Visa Australia

Having 65 points does not guarantee that you will get the invitation immediately. While waiting for the invitation to lodge the skilled working visa Australia application, you can increase your points to improve the chance of getting the invitation.

What should you do to increase your points?

In general, you can increase your points by:

  • Taking additional English proficiency test

If your first English proficiency test has not reached the highest point, you may sit for a new test and try to get the highest score possible to increase your points. That way, you may get a higher chance of getting the invitation.

  • Taking a test on NAATI

NAATI, or National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters, is Australia’s national certification and standards organization for translators and interpreters. You can take a test on NAATI to enhance your point. The cost for the test is AUD 800.

  • Enhancing your work experience

One of the most important things to enhance your points is improving your work experience. The longer the period of your work experience, the higher your points will be. So, don’t stop looking for new work experience related to your nominated occupation even though you have not received an invitation. You may only be able to claim this additional work experience through a skill assessment. So, depending on your nominated occupation you will need to update, renew, or retake the skill assessment.